↓ Archives ↓

Sigmund and the Sea Monsters

Sigmund and the Sea Monsters was a children’s television series that ran from 1973 to 1975. The show was a Sid and Marty Krofft production and was shown on Saturday mornings. There were 29 episodes spanning two seasons.

Its basic premise was that Sigmund (Billy Barty), a friendly (if somewhat cowardly) sea monster who runs away from his comically dysfunctional undersea family, is discovered and befriended by brothers Johnny (Johnny Whitaker) and Scott Stuart (Scott Kolden), who let Sigmund stay in their hideout.

Plotlines were very simple and straightforward, usually some variation on the idea of Sigmund doing something silly to arouse attention and the boys working to prevent him from being found by Sigmund’s brothers, Blurp (Bill Germaine, Larry Larsen) and Slurp (Fred Spencer, Paul Gale). The brothers also worked feverishly to hide Sigmund from their overbearing housekeeper Zelda (Mary Wickes), elderly neighbor Mrs. Eldels (Margaret Hamilton) and Sheriff Chuck Bevans (Joe Higgins).

In Season Two, Rip Taylor joined the cast as a magical ‘Sea Genie’ named Sheldon who lives inside a sea shell. He’s shown in the end credits of this episode:

How fun is that theme?? There were two different themes to the show, both of which were sung by Whittaker. The first season’s theme was called “Friends”, but was replaced the second season version shown here, featuring a song more pertinent to the story line.

No Comment

Be the first to respond!

Leave a Reply